Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023


The Liga BBVA is an amateur football league in Mexico. It is the second tier of Mexican football, below the Liga MX. The league was founded in 1943 and is currently contested by 18 clubs.

The Liga BBVA is divided into two tournaments – "Apertura" and "Clausura"– which typically run from July to December (the former) and January to May (the latter). The champion of each tournament is decided via a playoff ("Liguilla") system.

Liga Bbva action

The current champions of the Liga BBVA are Atlas. They won the Clausura tournament in 2023.


The Liga BBVA was founded in 1943 as the Segunda División. It was renamed the Liga BBVA in 2013 after a sponsorship deal with the Spanish bank BBVA.

Liga Bbva match

The Liga BBVA has been won by 27 different clubs. The most successful club is Club América, who have won the title 13 times.

The Liga BBVA has also produced some of Mexico's most famous footballers, including Hugo Sánchez, Cuauhtémoc Blanco, and Javier Hernández.

Current Season

Liga Bbva teams

The current season of the Liga BBVA is the 2022-2023 season. The season began on July 1, 2022 and is scheduled to end on May 1, 2023.

The current standings of the Liga BBVA are as follows:

  • Atlas
  • Puebla
  • León
  • Guadalajara
  • Cruz Azul
Liga Bbva coaches

The top four teams at the end of the season will qualify for the playoffs. The winner of the playoffs will be crowned champions of the Liga BBVA.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia