Last updated : Saturday, 02 December 2023

Durham And District Sunday Morning League

The Durham And District Sunday Morning League is an amateur football league in County Durham, England. It was founded in 1921 and is currently the largest Sunday league in the county, with over 100 teams competing in various divisions.


The league was founded in 1921 by two of its founding members, Swinburne College and Maddison Road. The league's headquarters are located at the Gateshead Sports Centre.

Durham And District Sunday Morning League, , action

The league has grown steadily over the years and now has over 100 teams competing in various divisions. The top division is the Swinburne Maddison Premier Division, followed by the Swinburne Maddison First Division, Swinburne Maddison Second Division, and Swinburne Maddison Third Division.


The league is divided into four divisions: Premier Division, First Division, Second Division, and Third Division. Each division has 12 teams, playing each other twice in a season. The top two teams from each division are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the previous division.

Durham And District Sunday Morning League, , match

The league also has a cup competition, the Swinburne Maddison Cup. The cup is open to all teams in the league and is played in a knockout format.


The league follows the standard rules of association football. However, there are a few additional rules that apply to Sunday league football. For example, players must be over the age of 16 to play in the league.


Durham And District Sunday Morning League, , teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia