Last updated : Thursday, 30 November 2023


The European Cup is an amateur football league that was founded in 1959. It is contested by teams from across Europe, and is considered to be one of the most prestigious amateur football competitions in the world.

The current champions of the European Cup are The New Saints of Oswestry Town & Llansantffraid Football Club, who are a Welsh team. They have won the competition a record 15 times.


European Cup action

The European Cup was founded in 1959 by the Welsh Football Association. The first season of the competition was won by Llansantffraid F.C., who are now known as The New Saints.

The European Cup has been won by teams from 12 different countries. The most successful countries are Wales (15 wins), England (7 wins), and Scotland (6 wins).


European Cup match

The European Cup is a knockout competition. The teams are divided into groups, and the winners of each group progress to the knockout stage. The final is played at a neutral venue.

The competition is open to amateur teams from across Europe. However, there are some restrictions on who can enter. For example, teams must be affiliated to a national football association.


European Cup teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia