Last updated : Tuesday, 28 November 2023

Hackney & Leyton Premier League

The Hackney & Leyton Premier League is an amateur football league based in the London Boroughs of Hackney and Leyton. It was founded in 1921 and currently has over 100 teams competing in its various divisions.


The Hackney & Leyton Premier League was founded in 1921 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league initially had just four divisions, but it has since expanded to include six divisions.

Hackney & Leyton Premier League action

The league has been home to some of the best amateur footballers in London over the years. Former professional footballers such as Paul Gascoigne, John Barnes, and Ian Wright have all played in the league.


The Hackney & Leyton Premier League is divided into six divisions: Premier Division, Division One, Division Two, Division Three, Division Four, and Under-18 Division.

Hackney & Leyton Premier League match

The Premier Division is the top division in the league and is contested by the best teams in the league. The winner of the Premier Division is promoted to the London Sunday League Premier Division.

The bottom two teams in each division are relegated to the next lower division.

Venues Hackney & Leyton Premier League teams

The Hackney & Leyton Premier League uses a variety of pitches in Hackney and Leyton. The most famous venue is Hackney Marshes, which is known as the "home of grassroots football".


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

  • FC Bartlett

    FC Bartlett

    Poplar, England

    Premier Division
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia