Last updated : Monday, 04 December 2023

Houlihans Birkenhead Sunday Football League

Houlihans Birkenhead Sunday Football League is an amateur football league based in Birkenhead, Merseyside, England. It was founded in 1964 and is affiliated to the Cheshire County FA. The league currently has four divisions: Premier Division, Division One, Division Two, and Division Three.


Houlihans Birkenhead Sunday Football League was founded in 1964 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league began with just four teams, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 60 teams competing in four divisions.

Houlihans Birkenhead Sunday Football League action

The league is named after Houlihan's Variety Club, a local charity that supports people with disabilities. The club has been a major sponsor of the league since its inception and has helped to raise thousands of pounds for charity.


In addition to the league competition, Houlihans Birkenhead Sunday Football League also runs a number of cup competitions, including the Tony Houlihan Memorial Challenge Cup, the David Tacy Memorial Trophy, and the Veronica Conway Cup.

Houlihans Birkenhead Sunday Football League match

The league also participates in the FA Sunday National Cup, which is the national cup competition for Sunday league teams in England.


Featured Divisions

  • Houlihans Birkenhead Sunday Football League Division 3

    Division 3

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

  • Eswa FC

    Eswa FC

    Birkenhead, England

    Division 3
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia