Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023


The Northern Ireland Women's Football Association (NIWFA) is the governing body for women's football in Northern Ireland. It was founded in 1976 and is affiliated to the Irish Football Association (IFA).

The NIWFA runs a number of leagues and competitions for women and girls of all ages, from grassroots to elite level. The top division is the NIWFA Championship, which is currently sponsored by Electric Ireland.

NIWFA action

The NIWFA also has a number of national teams, including the senior team, the under-19 team, and the under-17 team. The senior team has qualified for the UEFA Women's Championship on three occasions.


The NIWFA was founded in 1976 by a group of women who were passionate about promoting women's football in Northern Ireland. The first meeting was held in the Post Office Youth Club in Belfast.

NIWFA match

The NIWFA's first season consisted of three divisions, with a total of 18 teams. The first league champions were Bangor Ladies.

The NIWFA has grown steadily over the years and now has over 100 affiliated clubs. The top division, the NIWFA Championship, currently has 12 teams.

Current Leagues and Competitions

  • NIWFA Championship
  • NIWFA First Division
  • NIWFA Second Division
  • NIWFA Reserve League
  • NIWFA Girls' U19 League
  • NIWFA Girls' U17 League
  • NIWFA Girls' U15 League
  • NIWFA Girls' U13 League


NIWFA teams

Featured Divisions

  • NIWFA Division 3

    Division 3

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table
  • NIWFA Championship


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

NIWFA teams come from

  • Ballyclare,
  • Belfast,
  • Draperstown,

and other areas within Antrim and Newtownabbey, Mid Ulster.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia