Last updated : Monday, 25 September 2023

Northern Premier League

The Northern Premier League (NPL) is an English football league that was founded in 1968. It is currently the seventh tier of the English football league system, and is also known as the Pitching In Northern Premier League due to sponsorship reasons.

The league is divided into three divisions: the Premier Division, Division One North, and Division One South. The Premier Division champions are promoted to the National League North, while the bottom two teams are relegated to Division One North or Division One South.

Northern Premier League action

The NPL has a total of 62 clubs, all of which are based in Northern England and the Midlands. The current champions are Radcliffe, who won the Premier Division title in the 2022-23 season.


The NPL was founded in 1968 as the northern equivalent of the Southern League. At that time, it was the highest level non-League division below the English Football League.

Northern Premier League match

The league has undergone a number of changes since its inception. In 1987, a second division was added, called Division One. In 2007, Division One was split into two geographic sections, Division One North and Division One South.

The NPL has produced a number of professional footballers, including Paul Scholes, Michael Owen, and Wayne Rooney.


Northern Premier League teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Northern Premier League teams come from

  • Battyeford,
  • Leek,
  • Sheffield,

and other areas within Staffordshire, West Yorkshire.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia