Last updated : Saturday, 18 November 2023

Wolverhampton League

The Wolverhampton League is an amateur football league based in Wolverhampton, England. It was founded in 1903 and currently has 5 divisions, with a total of 60 teams. The league is affiliated to the Football Association and its teams compete in the FA Sunday Cup and the FA Sunday Trophy.


The Wolverhampton League was formed in 1903 as the Wolverhampton and District Church and Chapel League. All clubs and players were required to show evidence of direct connection with a place of worship. The name was changed to the Wolverhampton and District Amateur League in 1928.

Wolverhampton League action

The league suspended operations during the Second World War, but resumed in 1946-47 with 33 clubs in 3 divisions.

In 1996, the league merged with the Wolverhampton Works Football League to form the Wolverhampton & District Football Combination.

Current Structure

Wolverhampton League match

The Wolverhampton League currently has 5 divisions:

  • Premier Division
  • Division One
  • Division Two
  • Division Three
  • Division Four

The top two teams from each division are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams from each division are relegated to the next lower division.

Notable Players

Wolverhampton League teams

The Wolverhampton League has produced a number of notable players, including:

  • Geoff Hurst
  • Peter Shilton
  • Steve Bull
  • Kenny Jackett
  • David Dunn


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia