Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023

Wolverhampton Sunday League

The Wolverhampton Sunday League is an amateur football league in Wolverhampton, England. It was founded in 1921 and currently has over 100 clubs competing in five divisions.


The Wolverhampton Sunday League was founded in 1921 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league started with just six clubs, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 100 clubs.

Wolverhampton Sunday Leauge action

The league has been home to some famous players over the years, including former Wolverhampton Wanderers players Kenny Hibbitt and Derek Dougan.


The Wolverhampton Sunday League currently has five divisions:

  • Division One
  • Division Two
  • Division Three
  • Division Four
  • Division Five
Wolverhampton Sunday Leauge match

The top two teams in each division are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the lower division.

Cup competitions

The Wolverhampton Sunday League also has a number of cup competitions, including:

  • The Charity Cup
  • The Challenge Cup
  • The League Cup
  • The Presidents Cup
Wolverhampton Sunday Leauge teams

The Charity Cup is the most prestigious cup competition in the league. It is played between the winners of the top four divisions.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia