Last updated : Tuesday, 11 June 2024


The Yorkshire Hockey Association (YHA) is the governing body for hockey in Yorkshire, England. It was founded in 1895 and is responsible for the administration of all levels of hockey in the county, from grassroots to elite.

The YHA has over 200 affiliated clubs and approximately 10,000 registered players. It runs a variety of leagues and competitions for all ages and abilities, including the Yorkshire Hockey League, the Yorkshire Cup, and the Yorkshire Junior League.

Yorkshire Hockey Association action

The YHA also provides a range of services to its affiliated clubs, including coaching, umpiring, and refereeing. It also runs a number of development programs for young players.


The Yorkshire Hockey Association was founded in 1895. The first president was Mr. J.W. Wade, who was also the president of Leeds Hockey Club.

Yorkshire Hockey Association match

The first Yorkshire Hockey League was formed in 1900. The first champions were Sheffield Hockey Club.

The YHA has hosted a number of major international hockey tournaments, including the 1975 Women's World Cup and the 1999 Men's Junior World Cup.

Current Structure

Yorkshire Hockey Association teams

The YHA is governed by a council of elected members. The council is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the association and overseeing its finances.

The YHA has a number of committees that are responsible for specific areas of work, such as competitions, coaching, and umpiring.

Yorkshire Hockey Association coaches

The YHA's headquarters are located in Leeds.


Featured Divisions

  • Yorkshire Hockey Association Premier


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia