Last updated : Tuesday, 04 June 2024

3. Liga

The 3. Liga is a professional association football league and the third division in Germany. In the German football league system, it is positioned between the 2. Bundesliga and the fourth-tier Regionalliga.

The modern 3. Liga was formed for the 2008–09 season, replacing the Regionalliga, which had previously served as the third-tier in the country. In Germany, the 3. Liga is also the highest division that a club's reserve team can play in.


3. LIGA action

The 3. Liga was created in 2008 as part of a major restructuring of the German football league system. The Regionalliga, which had been the third division since 1963, was disbanded and replaced by the 3. Liga. The 3. Liga initially consisted of 20 teams, but this was increased to 22 teams in 2012.

The 3. Liga has been won by 10 different clubs since its inception. The most successful club is 1. FC Magdeburg, which has won the title three times. Other successful clubs include 1. FC Kaiserslautern, Dynamo Dresden, and VfL Osnabrück.

Current season

3. LIGA match

The current 3. Liga season is the 2023–24 season. The season began on July 22, 2023, and is scheduled to end on May 27, 2024. The current champions are 1. FC Magdeburg.

Promotion and relegation

The top two teams in the 3. Liga are promoted to the 2. Bundesliga at the end of each season. The bottom two teams in the 3. Liga are relegated to the Regionalliga.


3. LIGA teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia