Last updated : Tuesday, 26 September 2023


The A Lyga is the top division of amateur football in Lithuania. It is organized by the Lithuanian Football Federation (LFF). The league was founded in 1924 and has been played continuously since then, except for the period of Soviet occupation from 1940 to 1990.

The current champions are Zalgiris Vilnius, who have won the league a record 31 times. Other notable clubs in the league include Panevezys, FA Siauliai, and Kauno Zalgiris.

A Lyga action

The A Lyga season runs from July to May, with each team playing each other twice. The top two teams at the end of the season qualify for the UEFA Europa Conference League qualifiers.


The first football league was established in Lithuania in 1924. The league was suspended during the period of Soviet occupation from 1940 to 1990. The Lithuanian professional top division was restored in 1991.

A Lyga match

The naming convention of the league has changed several times. The league was originally called the LFF Lyga, but it was renamed the A Lyga in 1999.

Current season

The current season of the A Lyga is the 2022–23 season. The season began on July 1, 2022, and is scheduled to end on May 28, 2023.

A Lyga teams

The current standings are as follows:

  • Zalgiris Vilnius (30 points)
  • Panevezys (28 points)
  • FA Siauliai (24 points)
  • Kauno Zalgiris (22 points)
  • Jonava (20 points)


Featured Teams

  • SÅ«duva


    Kaunas, Lithuania

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia