Last updated : Friday, 29 September 2023

ASB Youth League

The ASB Youth League is the premier youth football competition in New Zealand. It was founded in 2003 and is currently contested by eight teams.


The ASB Youth League was originally a league competition consisting of the youth teams of each of the ten clubs that played in the New Zealand Football Championship. However, in 2009, the number of teams was reduced to four due to funding issues. The league returned to nine teams in 2010 and has remained at that number ever since.

Asb Youth League action

The most successful team in the ASB Youth League is Auckland City, who have won the title seven times. Other past champions include Waitakere United (4), Team Wellington (2), and Canterbury United (1).


The ASB Youth League is played over a 22-round season, with each team playing each other team twice. The top four teams at the end of the regular season qualify for the playoffs, which are played in a knockout format.

Current season

Asb Youth League match

The 2023 ASB Youth League is currently underway. The teams competing are:

  • Auckland City
  • Eastern Suburbs AFC
  • Waitakere United
  • Southern United
  • Canterbury United
  • Team Wellington
  • Wellington Phoenix FC
  • Hamilton Wanderers AFC
  • Hawke's Bay United


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia