Last updated : Saturday, 13 April 2024

Christian League

The Christian League is an amateur football league in England that is open to teams from Christian churches. It was founded in 1976 and currently has over 100 teams competing in a variety of divisions.


The Christian League was founded in 1976 by a group of Christian footballers who wanted to create a league where they could play football and also have the opportunity to share their faith. The league has grown steadily over the years and now has teams from all over England.


Christian League action

The Christian League has a variety of divisions, catering to teams of all abilities. The top division is the Premier Division, followed by the Division One, Division Two, and so on. There are also cup competitions for each division.


The Christian League follows the FA's standard rules of football, with some modifications to reflect the league's Christian ethos. For example, there is a rule that no player can swear or use foul language.

Spiritual focus

Christian League match

The Christian League is not just about football. It also has a strong spiritual focus. Each team is required to have a Christian leader, and there are regular opportunities for teams to come together for worship and prayer.

The Christian League is a great way for Christian footballers to get involved in the sport and also have the opportunity to share their faith. If you are a Christian footballer, I encourage you to check out the Christian League website and see if there is a team near you.


Christian League teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia