Last updated : Tuesday, 28 November 2023

EMCL: The Amateur Football League

The Eastern Massachusetts Community Football League (EMCL) is an amateur football league that was founded in 1976. It is one of the largest and most competitive amateur football leagues in the United States, with over 1,000 players on 60 teams.

The EMCL is divided into two divisions: the Premier Division and the Open Division. The Premier Division is for the most competitive teams, while the Open Division is for less experienced players. The season runs from May to November, with each team playing 10 games.


EMCL action

The EMCL was founded in 1976 by a group of football enthusiasts who wanted to create a competitive and organized amateur football league. The league started with just a few teams, but it has grown steadily over the years.

The EMCL has produced several professional football players, including former NFL players Tom Brady and Rob Gronkowski. The league also has a strong commitment to youth football, and it offers programs for players of all ages.

Rules and Regulations

EMCL match

The EMCL follows the rules and regulations of the National Football League (NFL). However, there are some minor differences, such as the use of a smaller field and a shorter game clock.

The EMCL also has its own set of rules and regulations that are designed to promote safety and sportsmanship. For example, there is a strict no-tolerance policy for fighting.


EMCL teams

Featured Divisions

  • EMCL encl


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia