Last updated : Sunday, 03 December 2023

Heavy Woollen Sunday League

The Heavy Woollen Sunday League is an amateur football league based in West Yorkshire, England. It was founded in 1920 and currently consists of 106 teams playing in four divisions.


The Heavy Woollen Sunday League was founded in 1920 by a group of football enthusiasts from the heavy woollen industry. The league initially consisted of just 12 teams, but it has since grown to become one of the largest amateur football leagues in England.

Heavy Woollen Sunday League action

The league has been home to some of the best amateur footballers in the country, including former England internationals Peter Beardsley and Paul Gascoigne.

Current Structure

The Heavy Woollen Sunday League currently consists of four divisions: Premier Division, Championship Division, Division One, and Division Two. The top four teams in the Premier Division are promoted to the West Riding County Amateur League at the end of the season, while the bottom four teams are relegated to the Championship Division.

Heavy Woollen Sunday League match

The league also has a cup competition, the Heavy Woollen Challenge Cup, which is contested by all 106 teams. The cup final is usually played at Elland Road, the home of Leeds United.


Featured Divisions

  • Heavy Woollen Sunday League Premier


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table
  • Heavy Woollen Sunday League Premier


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Heavy Woollen Sunday League teams come from

  • Batley,
  • Liversedge,
  • Wakefield,

and other areas within Kirklees, West Yorkshire.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia