Last updated : Friday, 24 November 2023


The Manchester League is an amateur football league in Greater Manchester, England. It was founded in 1893 and is currently in the ninth tier of the English football league system. The league consists of 126 clubs divided into four divisions: Premier Division, Division One, Division Two, and Division Three.

The league headquarters are located at the Manchester Football Association offices in Cheadle Hulme. The league's current chairman is John Wilson.


Manchester League action

The Manchester League was founded in 1893 as the Manchester & District League. The league was originally divided into two divisions, with the top division being known as the Premier Division. The league's first champions were Newton Heath, who later became Manchester United.

The league was renamed the Manchester Football League in 1903. The league expanded to three divisions in 1921, and to four divisions in 1992.

Manchester League match

The Manchester League has produced a number of professional footballers, including Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, and Gary Neville.

Current season

The current season of the Manchester League is the 2022-23 season. The Premier Division champions are Flixton Athletic, who are managed by former Manchester United player Paul Scholes.

Manchester League teams

The other three divisions are currently being contested. The top teams in each division at the end of the season will be promoted to the next division, while the bottom teams will be relegated to the next lower division.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia