Last updated : Monday, 04 December 2023

The Argonaut Trophy

The Argonaut Trophy is a knockout competition for amateur football teams in the south-east of England. It is run by the Amateur Football Combination (AFC), and is currently in its 53rd season.


The Argonaut Trophy was founded in 1971 by the AFC as a way to provide a competitive outlet for the best amateur teams in the region. The competition has been won by a variety of clubs over the years, including Dulwich Hamlet, Corinthian-Casuals, and Sutton United.

The Argonaut Trophy action

The trophy is named after the Argonauts, a group of Greek heroes who sailed to Colchis in search of the Golden Fleece. The trophy is a replica of a Greek amphora, and it is awarded to the winning team at a presentation ceremony at the end of the season.


The Argonaut Trophy is a single-elimination competition, with each team playing one match at a time. The competition is open to all teams that are members of the AFC.

The Argonaut Trophy match

The first round of the competition is played in September, and the final is usually played in May. The final is usually played at a neutral venue, such as The Oval or Selhurst Park.

Recent winners

  • 2022: Dulwich Hamlet
  • 2021: Corinthian-Casuals
  • 2020: Sutton United
  • 2019: AFC Wimbledon
  • 2018: Wingate & Finchley


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

  • Internacionale


    Waterlooville, England

    Argonaut Trophy
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia