Last updated : Thursday, 23 November 2023


The Amateur Football League (AFL) is an amateur football league in Ireland. It was founded in Dublin on the 23rd May 1954 to provide football for people who are amateurs, playing in a competitive spirit.

The AFL is the largest league in Ireland providing football at this level, with over 100 clubs and 2,000 players. The league is divided into a number of divisions, with promotion and relegation between divisions each season.

Amateur League action

The AFL season runs from September to May, with each team playing each other team in their division twice. The top teams in each division at the end of the season qualify for the playoffs, with the winners of the playoffs being crowned champions.


The AFL was founded in 1954 by a group of amateur footballers who wanted to provide a competitive league for players who were not able to commit to the demands of professional football.

Amateur League match

The league initially consisted of just a few teams, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 100 clubs. The AFL has also played a major role in the development of Irish football, with many of the country's top players having come through the league.


The AFL is divided into a number of divisions, with promotion and relegation between divisions each season. The top division is the Premier Division, followed by the First Division, Second Division, and Third Division.

Amateur League teams

There are also a number of cup competitions held each season, including the AFL Cup, the AFL Shield, and the AFL President's Cup.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia