Last updated : Thursday, 30 November 2023


The Carioca Football League is an amateur football league in the state of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It is the oldest football league in Brazil, founded in 1902.

The league is divided into two divisions: the First Division and the Second Division. The First Division is the top division and is made up of the best teams in the state. The Second Division is the second tier and is made up of the teams that did not qualify for the First Division.

Carioca action

The Carioca Football League is one of the most competitive football leagues in Brazil. The teams in the league are very passionate about football and the matches are always exciting.


The Carioca Football League was founded in 1902 by a group of British and Brazilian businessmen. The first season of the league was played in 1903 and was won by Fluminense.

Carioca match

The league has been played every year since then, except for during World War II. Over the years, the league has seen many changes, including the introduction of a second division in 1912 and the professionalization of the league in 1979.

The Carioca Football League has produced some of the greatest players in Brazilian football history, including Pelé, Zico, and Ronaldo.

Current Season

Carioca teams

The current season of the Carioca Football League is the 2023 season. The First Division is currently being played and the top teams are Flamengo, Fluminense, and Botafogo.

The Second Division is also being played and the top teams are Madureira, Bangu, and Portuguesa.

Carioca coaches

The final of the First Division will be played on December 11, 2023.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia