Last updated : Wednesday, 22 November 2023


The Champions amateur football league is a fourth-tier football league in France. It is contested by 56 clubs, divided into four groups of 14. The league operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the Championnat National and the Championnat National 3, the fifth division of French football.

The league was founded in 1927 as the Championnat de France amateur (CFA). It served as the first division of French football until 1929, when it was converted to the professional league that exists today. The current incarnation of the league is a simple rebrand of the CFA, which was founded in 1993 as National 2 and lasted for five years before being converted to the CFA name in 1998 and the National 2 name in 2017.

Season structure

Champions action

The Champions amateur football league season runs from August to May. Each team plays 26 games, with 13 home games and 13 away games. The top two teams in each group are promoted to the Championnat National, while the bottom two teams in each group are relegated to the Championnat National 3.

The champions of the Champions amateur football league are eligible to enter the Coupe de France, the French national cup competition.

Recent champions

  • 2022-23: US Granville
  • 2021-22: US Boulogne
  • 2020-21: US Avranches
  • 2019-20: US Concarneau
  • 2018-19: Le Mans FC


Champions match

Featured Divisions

  • Champions adult


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

  • united


    Phoenix, United States

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia