Last updated : Thursday, 28 September 2023


Division One is the highest level of amateur football in the Netherlands. It is divided into three divisions: Saturday, Sunday A, and Sunday B. Each division consists of 14 clubs. The champions of each division are promoted to the Tweede Divisie, the second highest level of amateur football.

The current season of Division One is the 2022-2023 season. The defending champions are VV Katwijk, who won the Saturday division last season.


Division One action

The first season of Division One was played in 1955-1956. The league was originally called the Hoofdklasse. The name was changed to Division One in 1996.

The most successful club in the history of Division One is VV Katwijk, who have won the league 11 times. Other successful clubs include ADO Den Haag, Excelsior, and Telstar.

Promotion and relegation Division One match

The top two teams from each division of Division One are promoted to the Tweede Divisie. The bottom two teams from each division are relegated to the Tweede Klasse.

There is also a promotion/relegation play-off between the third-placed teams from each division of Division One and the fourth-placed teams from each division of the Tweede Divisie.


Division One teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Division One teams come from

  • ,
  • Eltham,
  • Merthyr Tydfil,

and other areas within London, Merthyr Tydfil/Merthyr Tydfil.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia