Last updated : Monday, 15 April 2024


Division Three is the third tier of the English football league system. It is currently known as the EFL League Two, and is administered by the English Football League (EFL). The league consists of 24 clubs, and each team plays each other twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams at the end of the season are promoted to League One, while the bottom four teams are relegated to National League.


The Football League Third Division was first introduced in 1920–21, and was the third tier of English football at the time. It remained in this position until 1958, when the Football League Third Division North and Football League Third Division South were created. These two leagues were merged into the current EFL League Two in 1992, when the FA Premier League was formed.

Current season

Division Three action

The current season of EFL League Two is the 2022–23 season. The season began on 30 July 2022 and is scheduled to end on 6 May 2023. The current champions are Forest Green Rovers, who won the title in the 2021–22 season.



Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia