Last updated : Sunday, 26 November 2023


The ECFA North East Region is an amateur football league for colleges and universities in the North East of England. It is administered by the Association of Colleges (AoC) Sport.

The league was founded in 2003 and currently has over 100 clubs participating. It is divided into three divisions: Division 1, Division 2, and Division 3.

ECFA North East Region action

The ECFA North East Region provides a competitive environment for college and university footballers in the region. It also helps to develop players' skills and fitness, and provides them with the opportunity to represent their college or university at a regional level.

Competition Format

The ECFA North East Region season runs from September to April. Each team plays each other team in their division home and away.

ECFA North East Region match

The top two teams in each division at the end of the season are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the previous division.

The winners of Division 1 at the end of the season are crowned champions of the ECFA North East Region.

Recent Winners

  • 2022-2023: Newcastle College
  • 2021-2022: Gateshead College
  • 2020-2021: Sunderland College
  • 2019-2020: Northumbria University
  • 2018-2019: Sunderland College


ECFA North East Region teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia