Last updated : Monday, 27 November 2023

England Amateur Championship

The England Amateur Championship is the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf tournament in England. It is organized by England Golf and has been played annually since 1925.

The tournament is open to male and female amateur golfers who are members of an affiliated golf club. The qualifying rounds are played over two days, with the top 64 men and 32 women progressing to the match play stages. The final is played over 36 holes.

England Amateur Championship action

The current men's champion is Jack Singh Brar, who won the title in 2023. The current women's champion is Abbie Teasdale, who won the title in 2022.


The England Amateur Championship was first played in 1925 at the Royal Liverpool Golf Club. The first champion was Harry Vardon, who was also the reigning Open champion at the time.

England Amateur Championship match

The tournament has been played at a variety of courses over the years, including Royal St George's, Muirfield, and Wentworth. The current host course is Lindrick Golf Club in South Yorkshire.

The England Amateur Championship has produced a number of future major champions, including John Ball, Henry Cotton, Peter Alliss, and Nick Faldo.

Recent Winners

  • Men:
    • 2023: Jack Singh Brar
    • 2022: Ben Schmidt
    • 2021: Harry Hall
    • 2020: James Robinson
    • 2019: Matthew Southgate
  • Women:
    • 2023: Abbie Teasdale
    • 2022: Lily May Humphreys
    • 2021: Annabell Fuller
    • 2020: Olivia Mehaffey
    • 2019: Emily Kristine Pedersen


England Amateur Championship teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia