Last updated : Saturday, 02 December 2023

English Colleges Football League

The English Colleges Football League (ECFA) is the governing body for football in further education in England. It was founded in 1993 and currently has over 500 member colleges.

The ECFA runs a variety of competitions for men's, women's, and disability teams. The top level competition is the ECFA Premier League, which is divided into regional leagues. The winners of each regional league qualify for the ECFA National Cup.

English Colleges Football League action

The ECFA also runs a number of other competitions, including the ECFA U21 League, the ECFA U19 League, and the ECFA Women's League.


The ECFA was founded in 1993 by a group of college football coaches. The league was originally called the National Colleges Football League, but was renamed the English Colleges Football League in 2000.

English Colleges Football League match

The ECFA has grown significantly since its inception. In the 1993/94 season, there were only 100 member colleges. By the 2021/22 season, there were over 500 member colleges.

The ECFA has also expanded its range of competitions over the years. In the early years, the league only ran a single league for men's teams. Now, the ECFA runs leagues for men's, women's, and disability teams.


  • ECFA Premier League
  • ECFA U21 League
  • ECFA U19 League
  • ECFA Women's League
  • ECFA National Cup


English Colleges Football League teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia