Last updated : Saturday, 13 April 2024

Essex Veterans League

The Essex Veterans League is an amateur football league for players over the age of 35. It was founded in 1993 as a sub-section of the Mid-Essex League, before becoming an independent league in 2002.

The league currently has 86 teams playing in nine divisions, as well as five over-45 divisions. The teams are spread across Essex, from Southend in the south east to Walthamstow in the north.


Essex Veterans League action

The Essex Veterans League was founded in 1993 by a group of football enthusiasts who wanted to provide a competitive environment for players over the age of 35. The league started with just four divisions, but has since grown to its current size of 14 divisions.

The league has been successful in providing a fun and competitive environment for players of all abilities. In recent years, the league has also become increasingly diverse, with teams from a variety of ethnic backgrounds.

Current Season

Essex Veterans League match

The current season of the Essex Veterans League started in September 2022 and is scheduled to end in May 2023. The league is currently being led by the Alex, who are unbeaten in their first five games.

The other teams challenging for the title include the Catholic United, Atletico Trotters, and Summers Athletic. The relegation battle is also shaping up to be close, with several teams in danger of dropping down to Division One.


Essex Veterans League teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Essex Veterans League teams come from

  • ,
  • Auckland,
  • Chelmsford,
  • Chingford,
  • City of London,
  • Harlow,
  • Harold Wood,
  • Leyton,
  • Stansted Mountfitchet,
  • Wickford,

and other areas within Essex, Greater London.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia