Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023


The Landesliga (English: Football State League) is a tier of football in some states of the German football league system. It is the sixth tier in Bavaria, Saxony, Thuringia, Bremen, Lower Saxony and Hamburg.


The Landesliga is divided into 67 leagues, each of which is organized by the respective state football association. The number of teams in each league varies, but most have between 14 and 18 teams.

Landesliga action

The teams at the top of each Landesliga are promoted to the Oberliga, the fifth tier of the German football league system. The teams at the bottom of each Landesliga are relegated to the Bezirksliga, the seventh tier.


The Landesliga was first introduced in 1945, after the end of World War II. The number of Landesligas has changed over time, as has the number of teams in each league.

Landesliga match

In 2017, Schleswig-Holstein introduced Landesligas at the sixth tier, leaving Hesse as the only German state not to have Landesligas. The Rheinland region of Rhineland-Palatinate also operates without such a league.


Featured Divisions

  • Landesliga Friendly


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia