Last updated : Monday, 10 June 2024


The Liga Portuguesa (Portuguese pronunciation: [p?i'm?j?? 'li??]), also known as Liga Portugal, is the top level of the Portuguese football league system. It is contested by 18 teams, with the three lowest-placed teams relegated to the Liga Portugal 2 and replaced by the top-three non-reserve teams from this division.

The league was founded in 1934 as Campeonato da Liga da Primeira Divisão, and was renamed Campeonato Nacional da Primeira Divisão from 1938 until 1999. It was renamed to its current name in 2000.

Liga Portuguesa action

The current champions are Benfica, who have won the title a record 38 times. Other past champions include Porto (30 titles), Sporting CP (19 titles), Belenenses (1 title), and Boavista (1 title).

The Liga Portuguesa is considered to be one of the top 10 football leagues in Europe. It is ranked sixth in UEFA's national league ranking, as of 2021.


Top Scorers

  • Pote (Sporting CP): 23 goals
  • H. Seferovic (Benfica): 22 goals
  • M. Taremi (Porto): 16 goals
  • Mario González (Tondela): 15 goals
  • Carlos Júnior (Santa Clara): 14 goals


Liga Portuguesa match

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia