Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023

Merseyside Christian League

The Merseyside Christian League (MCL) is an amateur football league based in Merseyside, England. It was founded in 1972 and currently has over 100 teams playing in a variety of divisions. The league is affiliated to the Football Association.


The MCL was founded in 1972 by a group of Christian footballers who wanted to provide a competitive and enjoyable environment for Christians to play football. The league has grown steadily over the years and now has over 100 teams playing in a variety of divisions.

Merseyside Christian Lague action

The MCL is affiliated to the Football Association and its teams are eligible to enter the FA Vase and FA Sunday Cup. The league has also produced a number of players who have gone on to play professional football, including Michael Owen and Steven Gerrard.


The MCL currently has 10 divisions, with each division having its own set of rules and regulations. The top division is the Premier Division, followed by the First Division, Second Division, and so on. There is also a Reserve Division for teams that do not have enough players to field a full team in the main divisions.

Merseyside Christian Lague match

The MCL also has a number of cup competitions, including the League Cup, Challenge Cup, and President's Cup. The League Cup is open to all teams in the league, while the Challenge Cup is for teams in the Premier Division and First Division. The President's Cup is for teams in the Reserve Division.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia