Last updated : Wednesday, 28 February 2024

Merthyr Tydfil Amateur Football League

The Merthyr Tydfil Amateur Football League is an amateur football league in Merthyr Tydfil, Wales. It was founded in 1892 and currently consists of 16 teams. The league is divided into two divisions, the Premier Division and the First Division. The winners of the Premier Division are promoted to the South Wales Alliance League, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the First Division.


The Merthyr Tydfil Amateur Football League was founded in 1892. The first winners of the league were Merthyr Town Reserves. The league has been won by a number of clubs over the years, including Merthyr Town, Aberdare Athletic, and Caerau Football Club.

Current teams

  • Aberdare Athletic Reserves
  • Cwmbran Celtic
  • Ferndale Town
  • Glamorgan Wanderers
  • Merthyr Town
  • Newbridge Town
  • Penrhyd United
  • Pontypridd Town
  • Rhondda United
  • Risca United
  • Treharris Athletic Western
  • Tylorstown
  • Wattstown


Merthyr Tydfil action

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia