Last updated : Wednesday, 29 November 2023

Mexborough & District Sunday League

The Mexborough & District Sunday League is an amateur football league based in the Mexborough area of South Yorkshire, England. It was founded in 1922 and currently has 20 teams competing in three divisions.


The Mexborough & District Sunday League was founded in 1922 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league initially had just six teams, but it has since grown to become one of the largest amateur football leagues in South Yorkshire.

Mexborough & District Sunday League action

The league has been won by a number of different teams over the years, including Mexborough Athletic, Swinton Robin Hood, and Denaby United. The current champions are Caulfield FC.


The Mexborough & District Sunday League currently has three divisions:

  • Premier Division
  • Division One
  • Division Two
Mexborough & District Sunday League match

The Premier Division is the top division in the league and is currently contested by 10 teams. Division One has 7 teams, and Division Two has 3 teams.


The Mexborough & District Sunday League season runs from September to May. Each team plays each other team in their division twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams in each division at the end of the season are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the next lower division.


Mexborough & District Sunday League teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Mexborough & District Sunday League teams come from

  • Barnsley,
  • Bolton Upton Dearne,
  • Mexborough,
  • Swinton,
  • Wath upon Dearne,
  • Wombwell,

and other areas within Doncaster, Rotherham, South Yorkshire.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia