Last updated : Saturday, 06 April 2024


The Nedbank Cup is a South African knockout football (soccer) competition. It is the premier cup competition in the country, and is open to teams from all levels of the South African football league system, from the Premier Soccer League (PSL) to the amateur leagues.

The Nedbank Cup was first played in 1972, and has been sponsored by Nedbank since 1985. The current champions are Marumo Gallants, who won the competition in 2021.


The Nedbank Cup is a single-elimination tournament. The competition starts with a preliminary round, in which amateur teams compete for a place in the first round. The first round then features teams from the National First Division (NFD) and the amateur leagues. The PSL teams enter the competition in the second round.

The competition is played over a two-legged format until the semi-finals, which are played over one leg. The final is played at a neutral venue.

Amateur teams

Eight amateur teams qualify for the Nedbank Cup each year. These teams are drawn from the SAB League, the ABC Motsepe League, and the SAFA Second Division. Nedbank Cup action

The amateur teams have the opportunity to compete against the top professional teams in South Africa. This provides them with a chance to showcase their talent and to progress to the higher levels of the football league system.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia