Last updated : Saturday, 02 December 2023

North West Counties Football League

The North West Counties Football League (NWCFL) is a football league in the North West of England. It was founded in 1982 and currently consists of two divisions, the Premier Division and Division One.

The league covers the following areas:

  • Cheshire
  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire
  • Merseyside
  • Cumbria
  • Northern Staffordshire
  • Northern Shropshire
  • Far west of West Yorkshire
  • High Peak area of Derbyshire
Nort West action

The NWCFL has six feeder leagues of its own:

  • Cheshire Association Football League
  • Liverpool County Premier League
  • West Cheshire Amateur Football League
  • Staffordshire County Senior League
  • West Lancashire Football League
  • Manchester Football League

The current champions of the Premier Division are Chorley, who won the title in the 2021-22 season. The current champions of Division One are Runcorn Town.

Nort West match

The NWCFL has a long and rich history, and has produced some of the best players in English football, including Wayne Rooney, Michael Owen, and Steven Gerrard.

The league is affiliated to the Football Association and is a member of the Northern Premier League.


Nort West teams

Featured Teams

  • Sion Swifts

    Sion Swifts

    Sion Mills, Northern Ireland

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia