Last updated : Saturday, 24 February 2024

Northern Football Alliance League

The Northern Football Alliance League (NFAL) is an amateur football league based in the North East of England. It has four divisions: Premier Division, Division One, Division Two, and Division Three.

The NFAL was founded in 1890 and is currently ranked at Step 7 of the National League System. The top club in the Premier Division is eligible for promotion to the Northern League Division Two.


Northern Football Alliance League action

The NFAL was founded in 1890 as a single league, with a membership of seven teams. In 1926 it became the Second Division of the North Eastern League, but it split away again in 1935. It disbanded in 1964 due to lack of membership, but reformed just one season later, in 1965–66.

In 1988 the Northern Amateur League and the Northern Combination League combined with the NFAL (all under the name Northern Football Alliance) to create a three-division format, which later expanded to four.

Current Season

Northern Football Alliance League match

The current season is the 2022–23 season. The Premier Division is currently led by Wallington, with Newcastle Chemfica and Alnwick Town in second and third place respectively.

The full league table can be found on the NFAL website.


Northern Football Alliance League teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Northern Football Alliance League teams come from

  • ,
  • Bedlington,
  • Blyth,
  • Coundon,
  • Newcastle upon Tyne,
  • Ponteland,
  • Winlaton,

and other areas within Durham, Gateshead, Northumberland.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia