Last updated : Tuesday, 28 November 2023


The Northern Amateur Football League (NAFL) is an association football league in Northern Ireland. It contains 13 divisions, with the Premier Division being the top tier. The league was founded in 1923 and is currently affiliated to the Irish Football Association (IFA).


The NAFL was founded in 1923 by 16 clubs from the Greater Belfast area. The league initially consisted of four divisions, but this has since expanded to 13 divisions. The NAFL has been won by a number of clubs over the years, with East Belfast being the most successful team with 9 championships.

Current season

Northern League action

The current season of the NAFL is the 2022-23 season. The Premier Division is currently being led by Rathfriland Rangers, with Crumlin Star and East Belfast in second and third place respectively. The season is due to end in April 2023.

Domestic cups

The NAFL is affiliated to the IFA and its clubs are eligible to compete in a number of domestic cups, including the Irish Cup and the IFA Intermediate Cup. The Irish Cup is the most prestigious cup competition in Northern Ireland and is open to all clubs in the country. The IFA Intermediate Cup is a cup competition for intermediate teams in Northern Ireland.


Northern League match

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia