Last updated : Tuesday, 28 November 2023

Npower Football League

The Npower Football League was the name of the third tier of the English football league system from 2010 to 2016. It was sponsored by the energy company Npower.


The Npower Football League was formed in 2004 as a result of a merger between the Football League One and Football League Two. The league was originally called the Coca-Cola Football League, but the sponsorship deal with Coca-Cola ended in 2010. Npower then became the new sponsor of the league.

Npower Football League action

The Npower Football League was disbanded in 2016 and replaced by the EFL League One and EFL League Two. The decision to disband the Npower Football League was made by the Football League in order to simplify the league structure.


There were 24 teams in the Npower Football League. The teams were divided into two divisions of 12 teams each. The teams in the top division were known as the "Championship" teams, while the teams in the bottom division were known as the "League One" teams.


Npower Football League match

The following teams won the Npower Football League championship:

  • 2010-11: Doncaster Rovers
  • 2011-12: West Ham United
  • 2012-13: Nottingham Forest
  • 2013-14: Bournemouth
  • 2014-15: Sheffield Wednesday
  • 2015-16: Middlesbrough


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia