Last updated : Sunday, 26 November 2023

OB 70 Amateur Football League

The OB 70 Amateur Football League is an Australian rules football competition in Melbourne, Victoria. It was founded in 1970 and currently consists of 70 teams, making it the largest senior community Australian rules football competition in Victoria.

The league is divided into seven divisions: Premier, Division 1, Division 2, Division 3, Division 4, Division 5, and Division 6. The top two teams in each division are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the next lower division.

Ob 70, action

The league also has a number of other competitions, including an Under 19s competition, a Women's competition, and a Masters competition for players over the age of 35.


The OB 70 Amateur Football League was founded in 1970 by a group of players who were unhappy with the direction of the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA). The VAFA had become increasingly professionalized, and the founders of the OB 70 league wanted to create a more amateur-oriented competition.

Ob 70, match

The OB 70 league quickly became popular, and it has grown steadily over the years. Today, it is the largest senior community Australian rules football competition in Victoria.


The OB 70 Amateur Football League follows the same rules as the VAFA and the Australian Football League (AFL). The games are played on ovals, and each team has 18 players on the field.

Ob 70, teams

The objective of the game is to score more points than the other team. Points are scored by kicking the ball through the opposing team's goal posts (6 points) or between the posts and above the crossbar (1 point).


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia