Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023


Sky Bet League One is the second-highest division of the English Football League and the third tier overall in the English football league system. It is also known as EFL League One for sponsorship purposes.

The league was founded in 2004 as Football League One, replacing the Football League Second Division. It currently consists of 24 teams, with each team playing each other twice, once at home and once away.

Sky Bet League 1 action

The top two teams in League One are automatically promoted to the Championship, while the third-placed team goes into the playoffs, along with the winners of the four League One play-off semi-finals.

The bottom four teams in League One are relegated to League Two.


Sky Bet League 1 match

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia