Last updated : Friday, 01 December 2023


The SSE Airtricity League is the top level association football league in the Republic of Ireland. It is also known as the League of Ireland Premier Division. The league was founded in 1921 and currently consists of 10 teams.

The current champions are Shamrock Rovers, who have won the title 20 times. Other notable teams in the league include Dundalk, Bohemians, and St Patrick's Athletic.


SSE Airtricity League action

The League of Ireland was founded in 1921, shortly after the establishment of the Irish Free State. The first season consisted of just 8 teams, but the league has since expanded to its current size of 10 teams.

The league has been dominated by a few teams over the years. Shamrock Rovers have won the title 20 times, followed by Dundalk with 19 titles. Bohemians and St Patrick's Athletic have both won 11 titles.


SSE Airtricity League match

The SSE Airtricity League is a 38-game season, with each team playing each other twice. The top two teams at the end of the season qualify for the UEFA Europa Conference League, while the third-placed team enters the UEFA Europa League. The bottom two teams are relegated to the First Division.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia