Last updated : Monday, 08 April 2024


The Sub Branch is an amateur football league based in the United Kingdom. It was founded in 1920 and currently has over 100 teams competing in a variety of divisions.

The league is a member of the Amateur Football Alliance (AFA) and follows its rules and regulations. The season runs from September to May, with each team playing 20-22 games.

Sub Branch action

The top teams in the league are promoted to the next division, while the bottom teams are relegated. The league also has a cup competition, the Sub Branch Cup, which is open to all teams.


The Sub Branch was founded in 1920 by a group of amateur footballers who wanted to create a league that was more competitive than the existing leagues at the time. The league was originally called the "Suburban Football League" but was renamed the "Sub Branch" in 1922.

Sub Branch match

The league has grown steadily over the years and now has over 100 teams competing in a variety of divisions. The league has also produced a number of professional footballers, including Alan Shearer and Gary Lineker.

Rules and regulations

The Sub Branch follows the rules and regulations of the Amateur Football Alliance (AFA). These rules cover a wide range of aspects of the game, including player eligibility, the size of the pitch, and the number of substitutions that can be made.

Sub Branch teams

The AFA also has a disciplinary code that outlines the penalties for breaking the rules. These penalties can range from a warning to a suspension or even expulsion from the league.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia