Last updated : Friday, 17 May 2024

Sunderland Sunday League

The Sunderland Sunday League is an amateur football league based in Sunderland, England. It was founded in 1909 and currently has over 100 teams competing in a variety of divisions.


  • The Sunderland Sunday League currently has four divisions: Premier League, Division One, Division Two, and Division Three.
  • The Premier League is the top division, and the Division Three is the bottom division.
  • The league also has a cup competition, the Richard Jordan Memorial Trophy.
  • The trophy is named after Richard Jordan, a former player and chairman of the league.


The Sunderland Sunday League was founded in 1909 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league has grown steadily over the years and now has over 100 teams competing in a variety of divisions.

Sunderland Sunday League action

The league has produced a number of talented players over the years, including former Sunderland AFC players Julio Arca and Michael Proctor.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Sunderland Sunday League teams come from

  • ,
  • Boldon,
  • Cleadon,
  • Roker,
  • Silksworth,
  • Sunderland,

and other areas within Durham, South Tyneside, Tyne and Wear.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia