Last updated : Wednesday, 29 November 2023

Wakefield & District Football League

The Wakefield & District Football League is an amateur football league based in Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England. It was founded in 1904 and currently has three divisions: Premier Division, Division One, and Division Two.


The Wakefield & District Football League was founded in 1904 by a group of local football clubs. The inaugural season consisted of 12 teams, and the first champions were Ossett Town.

Wakefield & District Football League action

The league has grown steadily over the years, and currently has over 60 member clubs. The Premier Division is the top flight of the league, and is currently sponsored by The Rein, a pub in Seacroft, Wakefield.

Current Season

The 2023-2024 season is currently underway. The Premier Division is being led by Howden Clough FC, who have won all of their games so far. In Division One, the leaders are West End Terriers FC, while in Division Two, the top team is Featherstone Colliery FC.

Cup Competitions

Wakefield & District Football League match

The Wakefield & District Football League also runs a number of cup competitions, including the Cyril Craven Challenge Cup, the Jim Callaghan Cup, and the Seymour Memorial Trophy.

The Cyril Craven Challenge Cup is the oldest cup competition in the league, and is named after Cyril Craven, a former president of the league. The Jim Callaghan Cup is named after Jim Callaghan, a former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom.


Wakefield & District Football League teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia