Last updated : Monday, 04 December 2023

West Midlands (Regional) League

The West Midlands (Regional) League is an English association football competition for semi-professional and amateur teams based in the West Midlands county, Shropshire, Worcestershire, southern Staffordshire and northern Herefordshire.

It has two divisions, the highest of which is Division One, a regional feeder for the National League System (NLS) at the eleventh level of the overall English football league system.


West Midland Regional League action

The league was formed in 1889 as the Birmingham & District League to cater for teams in Birmingham and the surrounding area, but soon became established as one of the strongest leagues outside the Football League itself, with teams from as far afield as Bristol and Wales taking part.

In 1977, the league was renamed the West Midlands (Regional) League.

Current season

West Midland Regional League match

The current season is the 2023-2024 season. There are 30 teams competing in Division One, and 22 teams competing in Division Two.

The current champions of Division One are AFC Bridgnorth. The current champions of Division Two are Wolverhampton Casuals.

Promotion and relegation West Midland Regional League teams

The top two teams in Division One are promoted to the Midland League Premier Division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to Division Two.

The top two teams in Division Two are promoted to Division One, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the Midland League Division One.


West Midland Regional League coaches

Featured Divisions

  • West Midland Regional League division 2

    division 2

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia