Last updated : Friday, 19 April 2024


The Xavier Cup is an amateur football league founded in 1907 in Cincinnati, Ohio. It is named after Xavier University, a Jesuit Catholic university located in the city. The league is open to all amateur footballers, regardless of age or experience.


The Xavier Cup was founded in 1907 by a group of football enthusiasts in Cincinnati. The original goal of the league was to provide a competitive outlet for amateur footballers in the city. The league quickly grew in popularity, and by the early 1920s, it was one of the largest amateur football leagues in the United States.

Xavier Cup action

The Xavier Cup continued to operate throughout the 1920s and 1930s, but it faced increasing competition from professional football leagues. In 1941, the Xavier Cup was forced to suspend operations due to World War II.

The Xavier Cup resumed operations in 1946, and it has continued to operate ever since. The league is now one of the oldest and most respected amateur football leagues in the United States.

Rules and regulations

Xavier Cup match

The Xavier Cup follows the rules and regulations of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). The league also has its own set of rules and regulations, which are designed to ensure fair play and competitive balance.

The Xavier Cup is a full-contact league. However, there are certain restrictions on the use of force. For example, players are not allowed to tackle an opponent from behind.

Xavier Cup teams

The Xavier Cup season runs from September to December. The league playoffs are held in December, and the championship game is held on New Year's Day.


Featured Teams

  • Section E

    Section E

    Kathmandu, Nepal

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia