Last updated : 09/05/2024 14:20:28


Loughshinny United are a Sunday League soccer team made up of 37 team members.

The team is from Loughshinny, Fingal, Ireland and play in the Leinster Senior League Division 3A.

Loughshinny United started using TeamStats in September 2022 and so far have created match reports and statistics for 20 games.

Team Details


Loughshinny Fingal Ireland


Leinster Senior League

Team Type

Men , Adult , 11 a side , Sunday League

More about the team

The club has come a long way since June 10th 1974 when George ToIan chaired the inaugural meeting in the C.Y.M.S. Hall. The official title then was St. Brendans A.F.C.. Francis Ferguson was elected treasurer. Also on that committee were Liam Matthews, Christy Fanning, Pauric Rogan, Seamus Ferguson, Seamus McGee and Jay Kenny.
On the 5m May 1979 at the Iveagh Grounds the first trophy was captured by the club when they defeated Johnson Mooney and O’Brien in a five nil rout to lift the Bendal Cup. Ciarán Rogan bagged a brace that day. That side was managed by Liam Matthews. The then secretary was Christina Corr, one of the few ladies to hold such a position in 1979. Twenty five years later secretarial duties were still a female bastion in Loughshinny. Deirdre Ferguson ably assisted by Carmel Fanning performing those duties.

The late 1980’s saw a major step forward for the club when managed by the mercurial Gerry Butler they gained Intermediate status. This was, and still is, a magnificent achievement for a side based in a village the size of Loughshinny.
Their finest hour to date came on July 26th 2003 when proud Manager John Fullam prepared his squad for League of Ireland side Galway United in the first round of the F.A.I. Cup. Loughshinny had disposed of Donegal’s Fanad among others to qualify to compete for Irish soccer’s most prestigious trophy. Though they lost two nil that Saturday evening, this was a definite statement of ambition for a club that is clearly going from strength to strength.

To celebrate their 3Oth anniversary a black tie dinner dance is being held at the Carnegie Court Hotel in Swords on Friday June 18. Eamonn Dunphy was an honorary guest at the gala.

Club relied on managers who came in to bring in new players as the size of the village and local players dwindled. A few changes happened after Liam Kelly tenure ended when he moved to Glebe North in balbriggan. The bad years came in with others at the helm saw Loughshinny slip through the intermediate leagues in the LSL eventually finding their feet in the Saturday divisions. Nicknamed 'Los Galacticos' by other rivals due to the players at their desposal for this period. Rory O'Connor future LSL top scorer for 3 years running and an Irish Amatuer and Junior International, Colum Wilde and Brendan Carberry were the local talent at the time and gained 3 promotions on the spin with Edward 'Doc' Doherty at the helm. More players eventually left and the club moved out of the LSL leagues. The club made a return to the LSL in the 21/22 season and are playing Sunday football. Things are looking up once again with club Legends John Spencer as manager and his assistant Colum Wilde.

Loughshinny United Football Club

Loughshinny United Football Club is an amateur football club based in Loughshinny, County Dublin, Ireland. They currently play in the Leinster Senior League, the top amateur league in Ireland.


Loughshinny United was founded in 1967. They initially played in the North Dublin League, before moving to the Leinster Senior League in 1972.

Loughshinny United results

The club has won the Leinster Senior League title on three occasions, in 1984, 1994, and 2018. They have also won the FAI Intermediate Cup on two occasions, in 1986 and 1995.

Current Season

Loughshinny United are currently in 8th place in the Leinster Senior League. They have played 15 games, winning 5, drawing 4, and losing 6.


The Leinster Senior League

Loughshinny United table

The Leinster Senior League is the top amateur football league in Ireland. It was founded in 1922 and currently has 20 clubs.

The league is divided into two divisions, the Premier Division and the First Division. The top four teams in the Premier Division qualify for the FAI Intermediate Cup.

Loughshinny United fixtures

The Leinster Senior League is a very competitive league. The current champions are Bluebell United, who won the title in 2022.

Featured Team Members

Featured Match Reports

Loughshinny United Photo 3

Where We Play

Loughshinny Park

Loughshinny Park, Loughshinny, Co. Dublin, Ireland


Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia