Last updated : Saturday, 30 September 2023

Leinster Senior League

The Leinster Senior League (LSL) is an amateur football league in the Republic of Ireland. It is the highest level of amateur football in Leinster, and is affiliated to the Football Association of Ireland (FAI).

The LSL was founded in 1922, and currently consists of 32 clubs. The league is divided into two divisions: Premier 1 and Premier 2. The top four teams in Premier 1 at the end of the season qualify for the FAI Intermediate Cup.


Leinster Senior League action

The Leinster Senior League was founded in 1922, following the partition of Ireland. The first season of the league was played in 1923, with 10 clubs competing. The first champions were Bohemians.

The LSL has grown steadily over the years, and currently consists of 32 clubs. The league has seen a number of famous clubs compete in its history, including Bohemians, Shamrock Rovers, Dundalk, and Shelbourne.

Recent seasons

Leinster Senior League match

The 2022-23 season was won by Drogheda United. They finished the season with 73 points, 10 points clear of second-placed Crumlin United.

The other teams that finished in the top four were:

  • Liffey Wanderers
  • Bray Wanderers
  • Shamrock Rovers B
Leinster Senior League teams

The 2023-24 season is currently underway. The top four teams at the end of the season will qualify for the FAI Intermediate Cup.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Leinster Senior League teams come from

  • Ballymun,
  • Loughshinny,
  • Swords,

and other areas within Dublin City, Fingal.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia