Last updated : Tuesday, 28 November 2023

1 Liga Polska

1 Liga Polska, also known as Fortuna 1 Liga, is the second tier of the Polish football league system. It is contested by 18 teams, and the season runs from July to May. The top two teams at the end of the season are promoted to the Ekstraklasa, the top tier of Polish football, while the bottom four teams are relegated to the II liga, the third tier.


1 Liga Polska was founded in 1994 as the second division of the Polish football league system. It replaced the old II liga, which was disbanded. The first season of 1 Liga Polska was contested by 16 teams, and was won by GKS Katowice.

1 Liga Polska action

Since then, 1 Liga Polska has been won by a variety of clubs, including Wisla Kraków, Lech Poznan, and Slask Wroclaw. The current champions are GKS Tychy, who won the title in the 2022-23 season.

Current season

The current season of 1 Liga Polska began on July 1, 2023, and is scheduled to end on May 28, 2024. The current standings are as follows:

  • GKS Tychy (36 points)
  • Polonia Warszawa (34 points)
  • Zaglebie Sosnowiec (32 points)
  • Arka Gdynia (31 points)
  • Lechia Gdansk (30 points)
1 Liga Polska match

The top two teams at the end of the season will be promoted to the Ekstraklasa, while the bottom four teams will be relegated to the II liga.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia