Last updated : Friday, 05 April 2024

2018 FIFA World Cup qualification

The 2018 FIFA World Cup qualification process was a series of tournaments organised by the six FIFA confederations to decide 31 of the 32 teams which would play in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, with Russia qualifying automatically as hosts.

All 210 remaining FIFA member associations were eligible to enter the qualifying process, and for the first time in World Cup history, all eligible national teams registered for the preliminary competition, but Zimbabwe and Indonesia were disqualified before playing their first matches.

Qualification process

  • The qualification process began on 12 March 2015 and concluded on 15 November 2017.
  • The teams were drawn into 10 groups of five or six teams, with each team playing each other team in its group home and away.
  • The winners of each group qualified automatically for the World Cup.
  • The four best runners-up from the UEFA qualification groups also qualified automatically.
  • The remaining two runners-up played each other in a play-off, with the winner also qualifying for the World Cup.

Qualified teams

  • Russia (hosts)
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
2018 World Cup Qualifiers action


Featured Divisions

  • 2018 World Cup Qualifiers Group B

    Group B

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia