Last updated : Thursday, 04 April 2024

Association of Northern Counties

The Association of Northern Counties (AoNC) is an amateur football league in England. It is based in the North East of England and has two divisions: the Premier Division and Division One. The league stands at the ninth and tenth levels of the English football pyramid respectively.

The AoNC was founded in 1982 and currently has 40 member clubs. The league champions are promoted to the Northern Premier League Division One East, while the bottom two clubs in each division are relegated to the Northern Counties East League Division Two.


Association of Northern Counties action

The AoNC was founded in 1982 by a merger of the Northern Counties Football League and the East Riding Football League. The league's first season consisted of 20 clubs, divided into two divisions. The league has expanded several times since then and currently has 40 member clubs.

The AoNC has been won by a variety of clubs over the years. The most successful club is Bridlington Town, which has won the league title 10 times. Other notable winners include Scarborough Athletic, Whitby Town, and Gainsborough Trinity.

Current season

Association of Northern Counties match

The 2023-24 season is the 42nd season of the AoNC. The Premier Division is currently being led by Bridlington Town, while the Division One leaders are Scarborough Athletic.


Featured Teams

Association of Northern Counties teams come from

  • Liverpool,
  • Spennymoor,
  • Stockport,

and other areas within Durham.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia